Support

FAQs

We think the best way to get to know BrightHR is to get everybody using it. If you or any member of your team are having issues we are always here to help.

You don’t change who the employee reports to, you change who the managers manage. Don’t worry, it’s simpler than it sounds.

Head to the Permissions page, which you‘ll find under Settings. You’ll then need to assign ‘Manager’ permissions to the person you want your employees to report to.

To do this, select a name in the ‘Person’ field. If they aren’t already a manager, select ‘Manager’ from the drop-down list.

Then, choose the employee (or employees) that you want this person to manage and click on the ‘Save’ button. The manager’s name will then appear in the ‘Reports to’ field on the employee’s profile.

To add someone to a team or remove them:

  1. Click on ‘Employee hub’.
  2. Select the ‘Manage teams’ tab.
  3. Find the right team and select ‘Manage team’.
  4. Tick or untick next to the employee’s name.
  5. Click the ‘Update team’ button.

Head to the ‘Employee hub’ and click on the profile of the employee you want to send a registration email to.​

Then, click on the ‘Send registration email’ link underneath their profile picture. You’ll need to do this for each employee you want to send a registration email to.

If you can’t see the link on an employee’s profile, they’ll have already received a registration email and signed up to BrightHR.

If your employee said that they didn't receive the email the first time, ask them to check their spam folder. You should also check that you have the right email address in their contact details.

 

You must add employees to the same team for them to see each other’s absences. Once they’re on the same team, they‘ll see any general absences and future holidays. 

They’ll also be able to preview how many people are off on a day they want to book an absence.

Employees are the most basic permission type. They can only access and make changes to their own profile.

Managers—you’ve guessed it—manage other people. As well as accessing their own profiles, they have access to their employees’ profiles, too.  

Admins hold all the power. They can access all areas within BrightHR and all employee profiles. There’s nothing they can’t do—they’re your superusers.     

Go to the login page and click on the ‘Forgotten password’ link. Enter your email address and select ‘Send new password’.

We will then send you an email with a secure link for you to reset your password. You should then be able to log into your BrightHR account.

You can do this for employees who work short or changeable hours. Just click on their profile and find the ‘Contract and annual leave information’ section.

Select the arrow to expand and change the number in the ‘Current annual leave allowance’ field. You then just need to click on the ‘Save’ button to update their allowance.

You won’t be able to do this for regular, full or part-time employees. But we’re looking into how we can make this available to you in the near future.

To help introduce BrightHR software to your staff we’ve put together an email template you can use to let them know what’s coming. Plus, posters you can dot around the office to assist. We have also created an admin user guide, which covers everything you need to know on how to get started. These support resources are readily available for you to download further down the page, under ‘Additional support and resources’.

Yes, you can do this for both regular and variable hour employees. BrightHR allows you to record your staff’s extra hours and lets employees officially take the TOIL they’ve earned.

We've put together some useful FAQs to help answer all your GDPR related questions here: GDPR FAQs

We've also published a data processing agreement which can be found here: brighthr.com/terms

 

You can resend your employee a new registration email. Simply go to their employee profile and click the link under their .

Note: The link disappears once an employee has registered.

 

 

Head to the ‘Absence calendar’ and select the ‘Mandatory leave’ tab. From here, click the ‘Add mandatory leave’ button and follow the instructions. For more help, check out our detailed guide.

At the moment you can’t edit a working time pattern, but you can delete one. To do this, head to ‘Settings’ and click on the ‘Working time patterns’ tab. Then select the bin icon next to the working time pattern that you want to delete.

Head to the employee’s profile and click the pencil icon next to ‘Contract summary’. On the pop-up form, click the drop-down list next to ‘working time pattern’ and select a new one. Then click ‘Next step’ and follow the instructions to confirm this update.

You can see this information on the employee’s profile. There’s a section called ‘Public holidays’ and underneath the jurisdiction field, you can see whether public holidays are deducted or not.

At the moment, only managers can record any TOIL that an employee earns or takes.

Head to the employee’s profile and look under ‘Contract and annual leave information’. There you’ll see their annual leave allowance and their entitlement, click on the pencil icon next to ‘Days’. Review the information and once you’re happy, click ‘convert to hours’.

This is the usual number of hours a full-time employee works in one week.

This is the number of days or hours you give to your full-time employees. We use this information to pro-rata entitlement of employees who work less time than full-time.

Blip is a free mobile app for BrightHR customers. It’s a clocking system that lets you keep an eye on your staff’s work hours.

Find out more about how Blip works.

They just need to download the app and log in using their BrightHR email address and password. Discover how to set up Blip in our detailed guide.

 

 

Go to the menu icon and select ‘Make BrightQR code'. On this page, you’ll see a QR code that you can print off or email to yourself. For more information on setting up Blip, check out our guide.

 

You can print off the QR code or take a screenshot of it. Once you have a screenshot, you can share the image using another application. For more information on setting up Blip, check out our guide.

Go to the menu icon and select ‘Team history’. From there, select the employee who forgot to clock in and click on the correct date. Swipe left on their shift and select ‘Edit’ to enter their arrival time.  

Please be aware that only admins and managers can amend this.

For more information on setting up Blip, check out our guide.

Go to the menu icon and select ‘Team history’. Then select the export icon in the top right hand corner to generate your report. You can share it through the usual options on your mobile.

For more details on how to set up Blip, read our guide.

This is by design, as you are not part of your own team. The team history comprises of only the employees that you manage.

Still not answered your question? Get in touch with someone on our friendly Service Team. You can quickly raise a support case, enter a few details and we will be straight back in touch.

Additional support and resources

BrightHR user guide for managers

BrightHR user guide for administrators

BrightHR user guide for employees

Download the BrightHR app poster

Book your time off with BrightHR poster

Download email template

Sign up to one of our weekly webinars, where you will learn:

  • How to set up your account
  • How to add your employees
  • How to make the most of BrightHR

Register below for our product tour webinar and find out how BrightHR can help your business save time, save money and take the hassle out of HR.

Sign up

Here's what's coming soon...

Based on customer feedback we’re working on the below improvements to our software:

  • Making refinements to employee profiles to improve usability
  • Improving usability of the Payroll Exceptions report

We’re always looking for ways to improve our HR software. Got any feedback or suggestions on how we could make it better?

We’re not precious. We want to hear from you.